Transliteration Issues

I was looking for a good online Hindi-English dictionary, but my search has been vain so far. Most of the dictionaries that I found online have their own transliteration schemes and require me to enter the hindi word using that transliteration scheme. And transliteration schemes are not easy to use, I tell you. And not just that, some of these dictionaries actually give the translation scheme in terms of technical grammar words. Totally incomprehensible.

A long time back, when I was searching for a urdu-english dictionary, I found this beautiful site which uses a subtle and simple way to get around the transliteration problem. Check this site out  http://urdudict0.tripod.com/. Instead of asking you to give the entire spelling in one go, it lets you narrow down to the word letter by letter. Very simple, but extremely powerful. I never fail to find the word that I am looking for, atleast not so far.

If you are reading this blog and if you know of a good site for hindi-english dictionary, please do let me know. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

