Art

Play by Evam

Writer: Yasmina Reza

Director: Evam

Cast: Evam (Do not know the name of the entire cast and crew)

The play revolves around three middle-aged friends, Serge, a dermitologist, Marc, an aeronautical engineer and Yvan, a stationary vendor. The play starts off with Serge buying a work of art for a huge sum of money, which he describes as being “incredibly modern”. Marc doesn’t approve of it just as he doesn’t approve of anything “modern” and Yvan can’t make up his mind either way. A conflict of identities ensues and is the main theme of play. Conflict of identities.

“If I am who I am because I am who I am and you are who you are because you are who you are, then I am who I am and you are who you are. But, however, if I am who I am because you are who you are and you are who you are because I am who I am then I am not who I am and you are not who you are.”

The play deals with how identities emerge, how we relate ourselves with our times either by being part of it or by opposing it or by …

Well, I guess this is a very simplistic view of the play. The play deals with a whole lot of other things too, but I guess 1.5 hours is not enough to assimilate everything.

The best part is … its a comedy.

Evam is a young energetic group. The last time I watched them was when they were in Bangalore to play Double comedy – Monty Python and Hamlet. Had thoroughly enjoyed it. Art was also performed well. Initially, I felt a lack of energy in the actors. But slowly it kinda grows on to you and by the end of it everyone was having fun.

They are here tomorrow too. Do watch it. 29th october, 3:30 and 7:30 show, Rangashankara.

3 thoughts on “Art

  1. srivani Post author

    I am amused 🙂
    Anyway, I wrote this post AFTER watching the play. I enjoyed the play very much. Trying to buy a copy of Yasmina Reza but looks like none of the local bookstores has it. Will need to order it online. Or is there some other way?
    Btw, you guys put up a good show.

    Reply
  2. evam entertainment

    Hi :),

    Buying tickets for an evam showing has now become easier, with the launch of our own Box Office at http://www.evam.in

    All you have to do is click on the show of your choice, choose the denomination of the ticket and the number of tickets and we invite you into ‘club evam’.

    No money transactions, no credit card payments – just convenience. Helping us stay in tune with you.

    Tickets once blocked, will be reserved for you at the Show, by my Box Office team – you just have to collect them and pay. We hope you will all use this unique service to purchase your tickets.

    I must warn you that the home page may take a tad bit to download – considering this is our first online effort – things will only get better from this point on.

    So log onto http://www.evam.in and see you at our shows – looking forward to busting your Stress!

    And do remember – evam150 starts this weekend- Now showing ‘ART by evam’ on 6th Jan & ‘Love Letters by evam’ on 7th – 3.15 pm and 7.15 pm- Alliance Francaise.

    Looking forward to meeting you there!

    Cheers and Regards

    Karthik Kumar
    Managing Partner
    Evam Entertainment
    mailevam@gmail.com
    Helpline: 98402 22363

    Reply

Leave a Reply

