Fair Weather

This level reach of blue is not my sea;
Here are sweet waters, pretty in the sun,
Whose quiet ripples meet obediently
A marked and measured line, one after one.
This is no sea of mine. that humbly laves
Untroubled sands, spread glittering and warm.
I have a need of wilder, crueler waves;
They sicken of the calm, who knew the storm.

So let a love beat over me again,
Loosing its million desperate breakers wide;
Sudden and terrible to rise and wane;
Roaring the heavens apart; a reckless tide
That casts upon the heart, as it recedes,
Splinters and spars and dripping, salty weeds.

Dorothy Parker

One thought on “Fair Weather

  1. spo0nman

    She was more like a beauty queen from a movie scene
    I said don’t mind, but what do you mean I am the one
    Who will dance on the floor in the round
    She said I am the one who will dance on the floor in the round

    People always told me be careful of what you do
    And don’t go around breaking young girls hearts
    And mother always told me be careful of who you love
    And be careful of what you do cause the lie becomes the truth

    Michael Jackson

    Reply

Leave a Reply

