Oxford Murders

Book by Gullermo Martinez

Its a mathematical detective novel, so to say. There is nothing hugely mathematical in the story line itself, but because the novel is set in Oxford and the narrator is a mathematician, he ventures into a number of mathematical conjectures, theorems and, sometimes, into their philosophical connotation. It was okay, not too great.

Personally, I am not too fond of detective novels. One is left too much at the mercy of the author. The author is at liberty to hide important facts that are critical to the story line. The author can also send you on a wild goose chase at will. Not much is left open for interpretation, too much is controlled by the author. I am not very fond of such books. I like books where there is room for imagination.

Oxford Murders is surely not one of those.

2 thoughts on “Oxford Murders

  1. anupam sorabh

    I haven’t read the book , but I liked the way u have described abt why u don’t like detective books….
    But for once , just try to assume facts and imagine possibilities which these assumptions can lead to….,believe me assumption based theoritical imagining is as interesting as facts based vision imagining.

    Reply
  2. anupam sorabh

    I haven’t read the book , but I liked the way u have described abt why u don’t like detective books….
    But for once , just try to assume facts and imagine possibilities which these assumptions can lead to….,believe me assumption based theoretical imagining is as interesting as fact based visualizations.

    Reply

Leave a comment